Tags

, , , , , ,

I have a place in Mammoth Lakes, California in the beautiful Eastern Sierras.  Known for world class skiing, great mountain biking, fishing and outdoor play year around, Mammoth is an amazing place.  It’s also the training ground and home to may Olympic Athletes including Meb Keflezighi, who benefit from altitude training and inspiration from the Sierras.  The town has recently broken ground on a new sports training complex, so that it will be a destination for world-class athletes who want the benefit of training at 8,000 feet plus.

I do train when I’m up there, and it’s pretty rough, but I’ll save some of my chronicles for a future post.  In the meantime, here’s an article that the Town of Mammoth posted today on a few mistakes “newbies” make when training at altitude.  I think their tips, while more important at high altitude, are are good advice if you’re working out at sea level.

Show Stoppers | 3 Newbie Mistakes in High Altitude Training

Enjoy.

Small steps add up!

