Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m about half way through the rehab from my knee surgery and it seems that things are going really well.  My knee doesn’t hurt and twinges of discomfort are becoming more and more rare.  As you would expect, as the knee feels better and better the challenge becomes one of patience – – not doing something I shouldn’t, because the knee is feeling good during regular activity.  For the past two weeks in addition to my normal every-other-day weight training, I have been diligent on the stationary bike for 30 minutes/day, followed that with a brisk walk, and topped off with 800 crunches.

My family and I have been at our condo in Mammoth Lakes, CA for the last few days.  This is one of my favorite places in the world, but I must admit that being here and not being able to go 100% has been a challenge.  This is where I can play with my kids in the snow, sled, and ski like a maniac.  I also don’t have a treadmill or stationary bike here.  So, while I’ve kept up with my big batch of crunches every day and added push-ups as well, I’ve had to be a much more passive vacationer than usual.  Very different.

It’s really a test for me, and Ibelieve in focusing on the positives, so here are a few highlights from the past few days:

  • Saw a bear for the first time near our condo.
  • Took my good camera to the slopes to get some photos of the family skiing.
  • Family time and decorating for Christmas is always fun.
  • My body has had a lot of quality rest, but has not been in full “sloth mode.”

Onward…

.
Small steps ad up!

