Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There’s no role I play in life that’s more important than Father.  I was fortunate (and am fortunate enough) to have a great one.  I’ve seen the impact of crappy fathers by way of friends growing up and via some of my early intimate relationships.  Andy, yes, I’ve seen the many positive influences a great Dad can have.

257006_2143131183031_3503550_o

As a father myself, I struggle and often times feel inadequate and outgunned by my kids.  I worry that I’m not handling things well, struggle living up to my responsibilities and making enough time for my kids, providing for them while not spoiling them and turning them into entitled brats, and I worry that my desire to shape happy, responsible, well-equipped adults will send them to years of therapy later in life.  Then I remember, I had a great teacher and role model – and the the fact that I’m worrying and trying is half the battle.  Thanks Dad, Happy Fathers Day!

By the time a man realizes that maybe his father was right, he usually has a son who thinks he’s wrong. — Charles Wadsworth

BTW… That’s me with the bowl haircut and the pouting lips (to the right), with my brother, Mom and Dad (circa 1970).

Small steps add up!!!

