Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

tired-workerI’ve been feeling pretty run down, spent and intolerant lately, which doesn’t really put me at my best.  My mind isn’t as fast, my coping skills are nowhere to be found, and even my workouts are a bit more difficult.  I’ve been drinking water, eating pretty healthy, keeping up with my jog and weight training, so why so depleted?  Well, I think I figured it out.  I’ve had a bunch of apps running in the background and my battery has been running below 10% for the past couple of months.

Have you ever bought that new smartphone, loaded all your favorite apps on it, so you have your e-mail, music, navigation, social networks, etc. at your fingertips to find that only a couple of hours after a 100% charge you’re below 10%?  You can’t believe it, it’s a new phone, you know the battery is healthy, you haven’t even been using it for the last couple of hours, but it’s still drained.  Then you dig a little deeper and realize that Waze, Facebook, Twitter, IM, Instagram and a few other apps have been running in the background the entire time.  Wah Wah Wah!!!  I think the same thing has happened to me.  Even though I’ve been making some pretty good “small steps” choices over the past couple of months, I haven’t been able to completely turn off my background apps.  For me, they come in the form of needing to check voicemail, e-mail or attend meetings over weekends or vacations.  They may even be running, because feel that something big is looming, and I amiphone-apps somewhat “on call”, whether the emergency call surfaces or not.  Now, when you have a career, some degree of ambition and want to do a good job, this comes with the territory, so I’m not complaining.  I am saying that I need to find a way to be responsive and deliver good results, while at the same time truly disconnecting for a few days at a time, on a semi-regular basis.  Also known as “down time” or turning off my background apps.  If I don’t, I will definitely not be the best version of myself for anyone, and I won’t be healthy.

Small steps mission underway…  Operation “Turn Off All Background Apps” is underway.

Small steps add up!!!

