Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yes, after a 3 month “SmallSteps2Health” hiatus, I’m back.  I didn’t fall off theim-back health train.  On the contrary, I’ve been doing a nice job of staying on course in terms of movement, nutrition and stress management.  The reason for the gap between my last post (Jack Lalanne’s Birthday) and today comes down to managing my time and the number of goals I had going at one time.  I bit off more than I could chew, and had to back off of the blog to complete challenging goal in a way that would make me proud.

Last year, in the spirit of “When Was The Last Time, You Did Something For The First Time”, I took on something called Project 365.  It’s a project relating to one of my passions, photography, that amounts to15292379645_445775986b_z a year-long creative marathon in which you have to take a photo, process it and post it each day for a year.  It sounds relatively easy, but you can’t gunnysack photos, so each day the clock starts again and you can’t use great photos from prior days.  Also, as you move along, you set a standard for your shots that creates a self imposed level of quality that is quite powerful.  I really enjoyed the project, it was incredibly difficult, I learned a lot, have some great photos from 2014, and I’m very glad to be finished.  If you’d like to check out some of the photos in my Project 365, simply click those words in this post, or the sample shot of my daughter to the left.slo-logo

Now that I’m back, I have a lot of content that I’ve saved up via articles, clippings, quotes, etc. (all in Evernote), so there will be more soon.  While I’m a fan of linking together small steps and decisions to achieve good health and not a fan of “New Year’s Resolutions”, I’ll hold off any of my own.  I will say that the next 3 months will be very interesting for me, since I’ll be running my first 1/2 Marathon in early February, another Tough Mudder in late March, and my first full Marathon in late April.  So the training, knee management and mental preparation has begun.

More to come.

Small steps add up!!!